Angelo State art students win scholarships


Six Angelo State University art majors have been awarded scholarships for their prize-winning artworks entered in ASU’s inaugural Art Student Juried Scholarship Exhibit, which is now on display in the Carr Education-Fine Arts (EFA) Building, 2602 Dena Drive.  
Twenty-seven student artists entered their works, including ceramics, drawings, paintings, photographs, prints, sculptures and mixed media. The exhibit is open for free public viewing in the EFA Building’s Gallery 193 from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays through March 22.   
This year’s winners and their scholarship awards include:   

  • First Place – Tairon Bryant of Comanche won for his ceramics entry titled “Coffee Thot.” He was awarded the $1,000 Donna Swartz Family Scholarship.
  • Second Place – Rebekah Morgan Raschke of San Angelo won for her painting titled “The Scream.” She was awarded the $800 Henry Edwards Family Scholarship.
  • Third Place – Jin Ha Kang of Daegu, South Korea, won for her drawing titled “Face Time of Couple.” She was awarded the $500 VPA Performing Arts Scholarship.
  • Senior Award – Sarah Campbell of Rule won for her drawing titled “Schadenfreude.” She was awarded the $300 Scholarship in Memory of Roger Allen.
  • Honorable Mention – Lorraine Jazmine Luna of San Diego, Calif., won for her drawing titled “Anathema.” She was awarded the $300 Josephine Bell Visual Arts Scholarship.
  • Honorable Mention – Julie Restrepo of Austin won for her digital photograph titled “Vida Multicolor.” She was awarded the $300 Friends of the Fine Arts Scholarship.

The exhibit was juried by Laura Romer Huckaby, assistant director/collections manager at the San Angelo Museum of Fine Arts. Entries were judged on creativity, originality and technical competency.
The exhibit also includes artworks by Harley Beason, Robert Foate, Sydney Griffin, Juan Hernandez, Lori Mailloux, Jillian Murray, Kristyn Ward and Adriela Zavala of San Angelo; Kailyn Braudaway of Godley; Kodi Rene Drennan of Robert Lee; Kiana Hollins of Fort Worth; Grace Kerestly of Abilene; Michelle Linter of Mansfield; Zach Vigil-Minyard of Odessa; Hyeonsang Cho of Incheon, South Korea; Kayla Spoo of La Vernia; Vincent Tanner of Mertzon; Alexandria Valdez of Abilene; Victoria Van Tuil of Colorado Springs, Colo.; and Kaitlyn Wilson of Leakey. 

Source: Angelo State University

More Stories for you

• Rock thrown off I-35 overpass kills Temple woman
Officials say they are looking for the person who threw a rock off a railroad overpass, which killed a woman in a…

• San Angelo woman facing drug charges after motel meth bust
Investigators with the SAPD’s Department Street Crimes Division executed a Search and Arrest Warrant at the Super 8…

• 2019 Ash Wednesday Service

• Celebrating Women: Tuscaloosa Police officer Lillie Leatherwood
TUSCALOOSA, Ala. (WIAT) — During the month of March CBS 42 is celebrating Women’s History Month by spotlighting women…

• 3/11/19 Jail Log
Monday, March 11, 2019 Tom Green County Jail Arrest RecordsOver the past 72 hours, 48 people were booked into the Tom…

• Texas Frontier Forts represented at the Women’s Conference at Fort Concho in San Angelo
This weekend, Fort Concho is hosting the 15th Annual Frontier Ladies Living History Symposium.The women out at the…

• San Angelo State Park welcomes community to first Skin and Skulls Ice Cream Social
Sunday afternoon, San Angelo State Park hosted their very first Annual Skin and Skulls Ice Cream Social event. About …

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss