Angelo State University announces Order of the Sword and Shield 2019-2020 inductees

Local News

Photo courtesy of Angelo State University

SAN ANGELO, Texas – Angelo State University announced the 2019-2020 Order of the Sword and Shield inductees on September 9, 2020.

Their press release is below:

Angelo State University’s chapter of the Order of the Sword and Shield national honor society has inducted 19 new members for the 2019-20 academic year. The Order of the Sword and Shield is the only academic and professional honor society dedicated exclusively to homeland security, intelligence, emergency management and all protective security disciplines. The ASU chapter was chartered in 2015 and is one of only 80 Official Academic Chapters in the U.S., including just five chapters in Texas

To be eligible for induction, students must be majoring in homeland security, intelligence or other protective security field at an accredited institution of higher education, and must have completed at least 50 percent of the credit hours required for graduation. Undergraduate students must have at least a 3.25 grade point average, and graduate students must have at least a 3.5 GPA. Students are inducted by invitation and only after recommendation by at least two faculty members.

The 2019-20 ASU student inductees, by hometown and major, are:

San Angelo: Jeremy Carr, border and homeland security; Josef Haltom, intelligence and analysis; Sarah Ann Lewis, border and homeland security; and Kassandra Vasquez, intelligence and analysis

Austin: Jorja Noel, homeland security

Bastrop: Nathan Zaleski, homeland security

Beavercreek, Ohio: Alexa Newland, global security studies

Clovis, N.M.: Heather Roman, intelligence and analysis

Corpus Christi: Kyle Rogers, intelligence and analysis

Ewa Beach, Hawaii: Brandon Lafayette, intelligence and analysis

Fort Worth: Jameson Crumpler, global security studies; and David Herrera, homeland security

Hampton, Va.: Jesse Manchester, intelligence and analysis

Justin: Astred Zuleica Cabrera, intelligence and analysis

Midland: Citlalli Guadalupe Lopez Morales, criminal justice

Nacogdoches: David Wharton, homeland security/emergency management

San Antonio: Nicholas Cardenas, intelligence and analysis; and Caitlyn Ratliff, homeland security

Skyesville, Md.: Kyle Packwood, intelligence and analysis

Headquartered at St. John’s University in New York, the Order of the Sword and Shield was formed in 2010 and is also known as Omicron Sigma Sigma. The ASU chapter president is Brett Lane of San Angelo. The faculty advisor is Dr. Eduardo Martinez, instructor of intelligence and analysis.

More details on the ASU chapter are available at

More Stories for you

• COVID-19 update from the City of San Angelo and the Health Department
SAN ANGELO, Texas – Since the last report on September 7, there have been 71 released cases/contacts of cases (40 …

• Tom Green Co. residents receive unsolicited voter registration applications in their mailboxes
SAN ANGELO, Texas — Some Tom Green County residents are receiving blank applications for ballots by mail and voter…

• City of San Angelo to host 9/11 memorial service
SAN ANGELO, Texas – The City of San Angelo is hosting a 9/11 memorial service at 10 a.m. Friday, Sept. 11, 2020 at the…

• Our Water: rainwater conservation awards highlight experimental home in Junction
JUNCTION, Texas – The Texas Water Development Board announced the 2020 winners of the Rain Catcher Awards. The awards…

• 19 new cases of COVID-19 confirmed by the Tom Green County Health Department
SAN ANGELO, Texas – The Health Department is continuing to provide updated information regarding COVID-19 tests in San…

• Paint Rock ISD announces another case of COVID-19
PAINT ROCK, Texas – Ron Cline, Superintendent of Paint Rock ISD, announced another confirmed case of COVID-19 on the…

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Current status of COVID-19 testing in San Angelo