A.S.U. offers two free public concerts

Concerts held on November 7 and 9

San Angelo, TX -
Angelo State University’s Woodwind Chamber Ensembles will present a pair of free public concerts on Tuesday, November 7 and Thursday, November 9, in the Carr Education-Fine Arts (EFA) Building, 2602 Dena Drive. 
On November 7, the ASU Woodwind Quartet will present a concert of chamber music at 7:30 p.m. in the EFA Building’s Eldon Black Recital Hall. The program will feature selections by Classical composer Karl Goepfert, American Romantic composer Scott Joplin and Russian composer Andrey Rubstov. 
The Woodwind Quartet is comprised of student musicians Sophia Carbuccia on oboe, Romy Ftaiti on bassoon, Luis Gomez on clarinet, and Thalia Hernandez on flute. It is directed by Dr. Jeff Womack, associate professor of music. 
Then on November 9, the ASU Clarinet Choir and Saxophone Ensemble, will present a joint concert at 7:30 p.m. in the Eldon Black Recital Hall. The first half of the program will feature the Clarinet Choir performing “Canzona per Sonare No. 2” by Giovanni Gabrieli, “Woodland Sketches” by Edward MacDowell, “Pavane” by Gabriel Fauré, and “Scherzetto, Pavane and Gopak” by Gordon Jacob. 
The Clarinet Choir includes Devin Bringham, Mario Cardenas III, Paige Geiselman and Belia Nelson on B-flat clarinet, Keith Meeks on bass clarinet, and Cardenas on contra alto clarinet. 
Following a brief intermission, the Saxophone Ensemble will perform “Quartette de Concert” by Caryl Florio, “Gynmopedie No. 1” by Erik Satie, “Fetes du Village” by Faustin and Maurice Jeanjean, “Prelude in E Minor, Op. 28, No. 4” by Frederic Chopin, and “That’s a Plenty” by Lew Pollack. 
The Saxophone Ensemble includes Sean Curry on soprano and alto sax, Chantz Jones on alto sax, Ramon Gardea on tenor sax, and Keifer Pulis on baritone sax. Both the Clarinet Choir and Saxophone Ensemble are directed by Dr. Tim Bonenfant, professor of music.

More Stories

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

Latest News